CERN Accelerating science


National Technical University of Athens



The National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) is the oldest and most prestigious educational institution of Greece in the field of technology and science, and has contributed unceasingly to the country’s scientific, technical and economic development since its foundation in 1836. It is closely linked with Greece’s struggle for independence, democracy and social progress. In Greek, NTUA is called the “Ethnicon Metsovion Polytechnion” which stands for National Metsovion Polytechnic.

NTUA is divided into nine academic schools, eight being for the engineering sciences, including architecture, and one for the mathematical and physics science. The scientific research in NTUA is funded by both the public and private sectors, as well as by European Union sources.

The Senate supervises the overall institution’s function in compliance with the state laws as the institution’s internal regulations. It forms the institution’s educational and research policy, its strategic planning development, and reports on its regular activities. Moreover, it is in close cooperation with various Greek and foreign universities, as well as other scientific and cultural institutions.

The Lavrion Technological & Cultural Park (LTCP), near by the temple of Poseidon (Sounion cape), is a body of scientific research, education, business and culture. It was founded in place of the old French Mining Company of Lavrion (Compagnie Francaise des Mines du Laurium) in 1992, as a result of the initiative undertaken from the NTUA.

LTCP aims at linking scientific and technological research conducted in Athens with the needs and interests of the business world with respect to events related to the promotion of the local history and culture of the wider Lavreotiki area and the history of the premises maintenance activities. The LTCP area is a unique monument of industrial architecture and archeology with a series of housing facilities for business and research excellence.